Agencia española de protección de datos


International Conferences started in Bonn in 1979. Its aim is to collect annually not only the different supervisory authorities of data protection and privacy around the world, but also to representatives of the private sector and civil society. The organization is entrusted to a host authority, which is named, among the nominations, in the previous edition.

The conference is not an international organization, but a forum, exchange and discussion. However, with the passage of time and in parallel to the growth in the number of its members, has gone through a structure designed to provide greater stability and to ensure the continuity of work during periods between annual meetings. This effort of institutionalization led to the revision of the regulations and procedures of the conference in the editing held in city of Mexican in 2011. This revision is updated the criteria to qualify as a full member or as an observer at the conference and established an executive committee to manage the conference and represent them. The Executive Committee also examined accession applications of new members or observers, making a proposal that must be approved by the session Closed.

Also has evolved its format. Currently, and also from the Mexican City, the center of gravity of the conference is its meeting Closed, which are only the authorities of data protection and privacy. Together with this meeting, which traditionally has a duration of one and a half days, there are Open sessions, involving, together with the authorities, industry representatives, academics and experts, as well as civil society.

The Meeting Closed debate topical and important issues in terms of data protection and privacy. As a result of these discussions approves Declarations and resolutions, which may also be based on proposals of its members or in the reports submitted by their working groups.

  • 39th Conference - Hong Kong 2017
  • 38th Conference - Marrakech 2016
  • 37th Conference - Amsterdam 2015
  • 36th Conference - Mauricio 2014
  • 35th Conference - Varsovia 2013
  • 34th Conference - Punta del Este 2012
  • 33rd Conference - México City 2011
  • 32nd Conference - Jerusalem 2010
  • 31st Conference - Madrid 2009